I need to delete a region from my directory. I have searched this and the only advice I have found states that if the cities are no longer within the regions the regions should cease to exist but they don’t.
I have removed cities from the region but the region still has the cities showing against them in number even though they are no longer within that region.
Anyone submitting a listing or searching for a location will still be given a choice of the incorrect region which I don’t want to be available.
This creates a bad user experience as people searching who choose the region from which I have removed all listings will see a “no results” return. There is no way they will know they have searched a region which has had the listings moved to the other variation of the same region.
Also, I will have to manually amend those who submit a listing to the wrong region by mistake.
As an example the directory set Brighton & Hove as a region, I don’t want it as a region, it’s a City within the region of East Sussex. I have merged all listings accordingly but I cannot get rid of the region of Brighton & Hove as an option for submission or searching. So searches and submissions can still use/choose the region of Brighton & Hove when there are no listings in there and the correct region would be East Sussex with Brighton & Hove being a City in that region.
How can I delete Brighton & Hove as a region which was created by mistake and no longer have a place within the directory, so it does not come up at all under any circumstances?
The topic ‘Deleting Regions’ is closed to new replies, this may be for inactivity, please open a new topic if you have a similar question.