image links wonky?

This topic contains 28 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  tinamama 1 year, 9 months ago.

We have moved to a support ticketing system and our forums are now closed.

Open Support Ticket
  • Author
    Posts
  • #520245

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970

    Have a look what is in your FTP folder /wp-content/uploads/2019/12/ first.

    #520313

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    I did. I did this like 3 or 4 times. Maybe more. Deleted EVERYTHING. Listing, dumped trash, deleted image in media, deleted image on CPAnel. Started fresh every time. Same thing keeps happening consistently.

    #520344

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    I tried a bunch more times and here’s what consistently happens:
    If I start completely fresh with no image uploads to begin with, and then upload the image to CPanel AFTER the import of the listing, it doesn’t work. Does not link the image to the listing.

    So I try it the other way. Start with the image uploaded to the server (via Cpanel) FIRST, then import the listing. That works, the listing looks right, the image looks right…EXCEPT, it’s not the same image. It’s a copy.

    So….now what? If it does it this way every single time it’s going to be a whole lot of extra images. I’m going to have hundreds of listings/images. I’d like to conserve space.

    Clearly I’m doing something wrong. But what?

    #520347

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    Ok, maybe I’m doing the image link wrong. I’m reading the instructions over and over and I’m not sure I’m doing it right. I am importing new images, so there’s no ID, so I leave that out. So this is how I am doing the image link:
    https://californiafieldtrips.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/aquarium-of-the-bay-opt.jpeg|Aquarium of the Bay|Aquarium of the Bay

    Please let me know if this is correct or not.

    #520360

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970

    If uploading images AFTER

    filename01.jpg|||::filename02.jpg|||::filename03.jpg|||
    aquarium-of-the-bay-opt.jpeg||Aquarium of the Bay|Aquarium of the Bay

    You have to leave the ID empty if the image does not exist yet.
    Only if you are updating, can you use the ID.

    You are telling the system that “Aquarium of the Bay” is the image ID, because that is the first thing you add after the first “pipe”.
    You should have

    filename01.jpg| leave this empty | optional title | optional caption ::nextimage.jpg||title|caption::

    Thanks

    #520366

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    Well I tried editing the image link like you said. Nothing changed. Everything is exactly the same, whether I upload the image beforehand or after. What now?

    #520380

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970

    Please post FTP details.
    Thanks

    #520412

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #520460

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #520465

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #520470

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    That first image’s message…I’ve never gotten that message after importing my CSV files. Why would that be?

    Does it matter that I put the entire URL in the post_images column? Would that be causing my problems?

    #520472

    Guust
    Moderator
    Post count: 29970

    Do NOT use full paths unless you upload the images BEFORE uploading the CSV file.

    #520474

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    I GOT IT!! That was it! I was using full paths! I used the right link and now it works!

    I like that it doesn’t fill up media with all the images too! I didn’t realize it would do that if I did it this way. Bonus!

    #520629

    tinamama
    Full Member
    Post count: 317

    I’m looking at the documentation on this subject with a different understanding now and I see where I got confused. The wording seems unclear in places to me. If I could suggest some changes?

    For example, on the import/export section, this part:

    “About filenames:

    URL

    To upload new images, use the filename like this:
    filename.extension
    If you already have uploaded the image to an existing listing, the file URL will be shown like this:
    https://mysite.com/wp-content/uploads/year/month/filename.extension Note: It is not possible to reference images in the Media Library in this way. This URL is only shown as an example.”

    I read through that prior to importing and did not at all get out of that what Guust explained much better to me above. Because I didn’t get the significance of what I was reading, I didn’t see it was what was causing much of my problems.

    I think more clear wording there plus specific examples (ALWAYS so helpful to have visuals and specific examples for people like me to wrap our brains around what you are trying to explain) would be extremely helpful and save confusion and back and forth like this? Just a suggestion.

Viewing 14 posts - 16 through 29 (of 29 total)

We have moved to a support ticketing system and our forums are now closed.

Open Support Ticket